Don’t think like the world.

And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God. – Romans 12:2 (KJV)

I have a huge problem with comparing myself with what the world shows how everyone should be.

I’m 20 years old, I may not have the best paying jobs, I don’t have a car, a degree, house or a plan. I went through depression because of these thoughts. I felt so left out of everything because I didn’t have any of these things and it was hard. I went back to when I started high school, why couldn’t have I did good on classes? Then I could’ve ended up at a really great school with an amazing GPA. Or after I graduated, why couldn’t have I went straight to college and would’ve been working at a great paying job and could’ve had a car right now? 

No. These thoughts dragged me into stress and depression, I lost weight because I didn’t eat. One day, I came across a quote on Pinterest. It felt like God showed me this quote, it read: “A relationship doesn’t define you. A college degree doesn’t define you. A job doesn’t define you. Your worth is found in God alone.”

No, it doesn’t mean I can stay home and watch my life rot away. It simply means don’t focus on those things that you see the world doing. I am planning on going to school and earning a degree so I can work at a job I’ve always wanted, work to earn a car. It may not be the car I’ve always dreamt of (sorry, 2017 Toyota Tacoma in the color fire orange) but it’s what God will bless me with. I don’t have to be in a relationship to be happy. My main focus is building that one on one relationship with God. With God anything is possible, with God everything will become clearer. All these things aren’t going to drop in my hand one day, I have to work hard for it whether I’m still working on it in 5 years from now. 

Don’t buy into the worldly things we see everyday, the devil tempts us into it just like what I went through but it’s all in God’s timing and His timing is perfect. So, don’t give up on those dreams. Work for it and it’ll be worth it in the end. ❤️

Leave a Reply

